BB’s (possibly stolen) PROMPT for 04/24/15

Do you like acronyms? I think America generally is in love with acronyms. Teens use acronyms to communicate (LOL, ROFL). Companies use acronyms to advertise. The Military loves acronyms. (Now that I’m married to a Navy man, I REALLY get that!) And initialism. I’m not sure whether I’ve ever heard anyone use that word before (even the program I’m writing in doesn’t recognize “initialism” and is marking it in red as if it were misspelled!) ‑‑‑ but we use initialism (an abbreviation formed from initial letters), all the time, like FBI and company names.

Back in late December/EARLY January, like many, I made some goals. Then I scootched them around until they came together in an appropriate acronym, so they’d be easy to remember. My acronym was (appropriate!): WRECK! Because by the end of last year, I felt like one, when it came to writing and goals. WRECK stood for Write, Read, Exercise, Clean, Kind. I should Write, Read, Clean SOMETHING, do something Kind every day ‑‑‑ and Exercise at least 6 days a week. I did very well with a Post‑It which said “WRECK” stuck on the frame of my computer screen. For a while.

Then, today, I discovered the Post‑It is gone, and I haven’t thought about WRECK in weeks.

One quarter of the year is over. How am I doing?

I have written EVERY day ‑‑‑ because of 750words.com which sends me a reminder to write 750 words every morning. Sadly, not all are part of a novel or short story. Some journal, some junk. But, between reminders and online “badges” for reaching certain word levels, speeds, days in a row, etc., I am on a nearly 500 DAY streak without missing or writing less than 750.

I’ve been reading more days ‑ mostly because I want to read 100 books again this year. But I’m falling slightly behind.

I’ve been a little better at exercising (even lost 5 pounds according to my radiologist as of yesterday). But it hasn’t been nearly enough.

Clean something EVERY day? NOT even close! Do something KIND every day. OOOoooops, there too!

For your Prompt today, decide what you’d most like to get done today . . . tomorrow . . . this week . . . next month. Come up with an acronym; post it where you can see it EVERY day. Give it the Old College Try. Get it done! You’ll feel WONDERFUL if you make it (probably even if you come close).

YES! I DID IT! My acronym is still WRECK because it says so much about me. It’s on a new BRIGHT GOLD Post‑It. Stuck to the bottom of a framed fantasy picture I hung for inspiration above my desk. It hovers in my field of vision less than a foot above the top of my opened computer. I can’t NOT see it! Send us your acronyms and what they stand for. We’ll cheer you on!

(Feel free to re‑use my prompts, modified to YOUR specifications ‑‑‑ I “stole” them too from Carol Lynch Williams, AnnDeeCanDee, Cheryl, The ABC Writers Guild and others . . . )

Leave a comment

Filed under Changes, Friends, Prompts

Leave a Reply

