BB=s (possibly stolen) PROMPT for 04/14/15

From Carol Lynch Williams: Getting to know the plot and subplots of your book, write each as news articles, journal entries, headlines, from the voice of a local newscaster, as an announcement over the intercom at school, etc. Make them as detailed as needed.

YES! I DID IT ! ! ! Choose what you want from the above: I was stuck getting started, so, being a “Pantser,” I chose the easy way out: Several days ago I’d made a list of “habits” for each of my characters. I’d written that with each character’s name on a different colored Post‑It. I’d stuck them onto a LARGE sheet of colored butcher paper which I hung on a wall in my kitchen. So I chose to just write ONE of the ideas in the prompt above: Headlines. Lo, and Behold! AN OUTLINE (of sorts. It was FUN and pretty HILARIOUS to see what I could come up with as each new character was met and dealt with. I may get over my distaste for OUTLINES, between these two exercise4s.

Just a FEW of my HEADLINES, as examples:

  • L’Aquellian (aka Lackley) Investigates New Hedge Near Lord’s Compound
  • Maidservant Claims to Have Seen Lackley Disappear into Hedge of New Planted Ivy
  • Ice Queen Accused of Kidnapping Lackley After Icy Trail Ended at Hedge
  • Weather Warnings: Strawberries Found Blooming and Ripening in Mid‑December
  • Bird Watchers Claim to Have Seen Smoke Rising From Possible Tower Peak in Giant Hedge

(Feel free to re‑use my prompts, modified to YOUR specifications ‑‑‑ I “stole” them too from Carol Lynch Williams, AnnDeeCanDee, Cheryl, The ABC Writers Guild and others . . . )

Leave a comment

Filed under Changes, Friends, Prompts

Leave a Reply

