BB’s (possibly stolen) PROMPT for 04/13/15

A short while back Carol Lynch Williams wrote “The beginning. The start of a new novel. Oh, gosh, I’m at that door. Again. Is everything in place? No. I think I have the first line(s). Not sure it’ll stay, but this came night before last. ‘I’ve died four times (almost) and here I am on the tail end of twelve years old. At this rate, I won’t live to see nineteen.’ I have a bit more: So far I know how I want the book set up. I know what this character’s Daddy does for a living. Not so sure about Mom. Siblings? Maybe. What she wants? Yup, got that. But‑‑‑I ain’t got no other ideas . . . It went on, but ended with “I’m at that door. Again. That sexy beginning where anything can happen. I love this place.

I thought it was SO interesting to get an inside look at the mind of a writer. So, the prompt is to write down what you have (or don’t) for a not‑yet began WIP. (The W.I.P. being ALL in your head. Or, in this case, mine.)

YES! I DID IT! I am at that door, too (Carol’s probably already got her full first draft). Again. Is everything in place? No. I don’t have the first line(s). I do have a character. Actually, I have a MC, and 20 other creatures and/or “people” of different sorts. I know what habits they all have (that was a whole different prompt).

I know what the Father does “for a living.” This is a fantasy, but he’s NOT the King ‑‑‑ he’s an official Landholder, but not nearly so grand as a King. I don’t know about the mother yet either. (Why am I leaving out the mom? . . . oh, well ‑‑‑ Carol did too at this stage)

I know what my MC’s name is, and what she wants ultimately. Siblings? Possibly not, though that could change. And Carol was right: now begins the long haul of exploring, deciding, wondering, thinking; in my case, asking fellow writers’ for advice. I’ve already done a LOT of the complaining and worrying. And balking at starting (Carol doesn’t do that part. I get stuck in it.)

The beginning. The start of a new novel. Oh, gosh, I’m at that door. Again. That sexy beginning where anything can/should/ NEEDS to happen. And the door’s locked! I hate this place!

(Feel free to re‑use my prompts, modified to YOUR specifications ‑‑‑ I “stole” them too from Carol Lynch Williams, AnnDeeCanDee, Cheryl, The ABC Writers Guild and others . . . )

Leave a comment

Filed under Changes, Friends, Prompts

Leave a Reply

