Spellbinder Saturday: When in the presence of greatness, etc.

Spellbinder ramblings from HA

Sorry for being late with this, but we’ve been tied up at LTUE (Life, the Universe, and Everything) writing seminar for the last three days. Orson Scott Card was the keynote speaker and sat on a couple of discussion panels. Needless to say, the days were long, but it was a good gathering. Go online to http://www.ltue.org to get tickets for next year.

Now, on to the review … sort of.

I would love to do a review of Divergent, but I can’t, in good conscience, do that; we have a rule: no bad reviews. The first two books in the series, Divergent and Insurgent were awesome, spellbinding, and exciting. I could write a very positive review on them. I wouldn’t want you to get your hopes up and have you decide to read all three books in the series. Then you’d blame me because the third book, Allegiant, doesn’t deliver the goods. So… no review of the Divergent trilogy.

Unfortunately, everything I’ve been reading lately have been series, or, if not series, then books of the same characters, but stand alone (Kinsey Millhone and Phryne Fisher mysteries for example).

I have done reviews on the stand alones, but have only done the series when they’re completed—for the most part. There have been a couple of exceptions. Primarily when the series has not been completed and have done the review on each of the books as they came out.

I wish I’d done this in the case of the Divergent trilogy. Unfortunately, I had never heard of the series until the movie Divergent was being touted and, by then, all three books had been published. I got the three-volume e-book edition so I could read all of them at once. Big mistake, but I have to live with it. You don’t.

So, for the next few weeks, I’ll be doing single books and not series until I can find a trilogy (or whatever) that maintains the momentum and enjoyment of all of the volumes.

Until then, we’ll see you for Tips for Tuesday

1 Comment

Filed under Spellbinder

One response to “Spellbinder Saturday: When in the presence of greatness, etc.

  1. Sadly, have to say I agree. But, if you could stand to leave things somewhat unresolved, you COULD read the first two — I found them as gripping as The Hunger Games trilogy, in their own way. Couldn’t put ’em down!

Leave a Reply

