Saturday’s Spellbinder… A Spellbinding Mash-up

As easy as A, B, C . . . from HA

King and Maxwell    912o4PNgq3L__SL1500_     919KOqrxFRL__SL1500_

Spellbinder… defined by Merriam-Webster: a speaker of compelling eloquence; also: one that compels attention. The World English Dictionary adds: a novel, play, etc., that holds one enthralled. Obviously, I am not the one described in the first definition. This is going to be about books I have found enthralling… or at least good enough to recommend to others.

It’s only been a week since my last review (and my last Softcover), so the changes have come kind of fast and I’m not as prepared for a review as I usually am.

Which is not to say I haven’t been reading this last week. I have read A Serpent’s Tooth, by Craig Johnson; Blood and Circuses, a Miss Fisher Murder Mystery, by Kerry Greenwood; King and Maxwell, by David Baldacci. I think that’s all. I really need to keep better track.

The interesting and common thing about all three of these books?  I discovered TV shows were inspired by these books. Yes, all three of them are TV series. I read credits; each one had a “based on…” statement. If I like a show and it’s based on a book, I go find the book. Fortunately, all of these are not only TV series, but book series as well. I’m at the end of the Walt Longmire series (Craig Johnson), and the King and Maxwell series. I’ve seen all 25 of the Miss Fisher Murder Mystery episodes, but there are 20 of the books in the series and I’m only on number five.

So, there are the Spellbinding novels of the moment. They are as diverse in subject matter and characters as could possibly be found. Craig Johnson’s novels are about a sheriff in Wyoming. David Baldacci’s series is about two prior Secret Service agents running a private detective firm in the Washington, D.C. area. Kerry Greenwood’s Phryne Fisher books take place in Australia during the Roaring 20’s. Diverse.

Next up, I think, will be Divergent, by Veronica Roth, in preparation for the movie.

See you next for Tips on Tuesday.

Leave a comment

Filed under Spellbinder

Leave a Reply

