Wednesday’s WIPs: Still WIPpin’ It Up for NaNo!

EASY AS A, B, C . . . from A, B and both C’s

National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo.org) is a little over half‑way finished. How’s everyone doing? And if you’re NOT doing NaNo, where are you with your current WIP? Is it part (or all?) of your NaNo? If you could pick one line (well, OK, maybe two) or one idea for your WIP that you’re most proud of in the last two weeks, what would it be?

H.A. The Other Siders: I have crossed the half‑way mark at NaNo. I have over 20,000 words‑‑‑not quite half‑‑‑but it does equate to 76 new pages for November. We’re about to embark on the rescue of our Hero who has been transported to “the other side.” Her kidnap was a new idea that just “sort of happened,” when the story took off on its own.

B.B. gElf and the Legend of Jarra‑Jen: Since I can only send in 7,500 to 10,000 words for the Dark Crystal contest, and I now have well over 16,000 words written, I need to cut, Cut, CUT — judiciously, of course. I have now written to a little past where I want to end the contest piece, so that it leaves at a point of great tension. I want those judges to want to see more! My recent favorite moment so far: Three young boys are teasing gElf, our intrepid Hero in a very mean way. They take his big stick which he’s dragging through the desert toward the village for heating and cooking that evening. As they fight over the stick, he does an almost magical‑looking trick jerking his stick out of their hands, as he calls “Come on, Cudgel, you can do it.” As he drags it toward him by hidden strands, he says, “Good boy, Cudgel, good boy!” and pats the upraised, jagged top edge of the wood as he would a pet dog.

C.C. Ezzy Bear: NaNo is trying to kill me! I asked a friend the other day, if it was OK to take a day off. All I’ve done is sit in my room for two weeks from morning to night. I yell at the anybody who knocks on my door, because I’m in my own world called “NaNo” ‑‑‑ BUT I am making very good progress on my story. I think NaNo will enable me to finish it. I wrote a poem about Ezzy ‑ I didn’t even know I could do that. It’s surprising to me that everyone I have read it to is left in tears. What came to me during this last two weeks, is how to resolve the lack of tension at the end of chapter 1.

J.C. The Shadow Master: I have chosen not to participate in NaNo. I completed chapter 1, and re‑read chapter 2 which I found to be extremely boring, plotless, dry, with no action, no interest, no hope, no tension . . . and it’s no longer in my book. It looks like chapter 2 is a total re‑write. I shall begin!

See you day‑after‑tomorrow for Friday’s Friends!

Leave a comment

Filed under WIPs

Leave a Reply

