Wednesday’s WIPs: WIPpin’ Up Ideas Before NaNo

EASY AS A, B, C . . . from A, B and both C’s

National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) is JUST around the corner. So where do we stand on the current WIP, and where will we go next with NaNo?

H.A. The Other Siders: The first major crisis has been overcome, only to transform directly into the next major crisis. We’re crossing over to the Other Side. A mysterious character arrives to join forces with our intrepid heroes. The “Other Side” may become the beginning of the NaNoWriMo project.

B.B. gElf and the Legend of Jarra-Jen: Two weeks ago, on my WIP, I wrote that I was “. . . hoping to get chapters three and four done EARLY” within that next week: didn’t happen . . . but Life did. And Death. But that’s another story. I still need to write another one chapter, or preferably two, for the Jim Hensen contest. Then I’ll be prepping the National Novel Writing Month. My hope now is that the contest piece will be sent, and I’ll return to my faerie tale. I’d originally conceived it as a Book I and Book II effort. As I have more material for Book I than I need—it needs a great deal of trimming and working over—I plan to go into what would have been Book II. In Book I, the main character is Ashlad, a young boy picked on by a difficult family (think male Cinderella). Book II’s main character is the Princess . . . well, that shows how much work I need to do: I haven’t even got a name for her yet. It will be her job to find and rescue Ashlad who is kidnapped at the end of Book I, by which time she has fallen in love with him . . . to her father’s disgruntlement. It will not be an easy road to the Happy Ending!

C.C. Ezzy Bear: The beginning has been revamped to increase the balance from earlier versions. I’m using humor to counter the difficult moments. I’m working on rewriting big portions of this book. I’m finding writing the emotional parts is not as difficult as it was in the beginning, but I’m learning to write through them. I’m still struggling to understand commas!

J.C. The Shadow Master: I need to build more depth in my main character, Brax, and bring in Brax’s side-kick-to-be. NaNo is not in the cards until Shadow Master is complete.

See you day-after-tomorrow for Friday’s Friends!

Leave a comment

Filed under WIPs

Leave a Reply

