Wednesday’s WIPs: Working with WIPs

EASY AS A, B, C . . . from A, B and both C’s

As a group, we discussed the 3-act structure often associated with film and fiction, with all its sub-divisions of plot points, twists, etc.

H.A.  The Other Siders: Two new support characters have been added, causing a major re-write from chapter one on.  The added characters have given me foils for the other characters to bounce off of, as they give us a chance for comic relief.  They seem to have added what would have been needed if Harry Potter had been written without Hermione and Ron.

B.B.  Shattered Shards: Changed the title . . . again!  Right now it’s being called gElf and the Legend of Jarra-Jen.  This is the contest piece for an author to write a “new” story of Jim Henson’s original The Dark Crystal film and various books and graphic novels.  At only 7,500 to 10,000 words max., I probably only need to have four chapters.  My first two chapters I’ve written and rewritten a couple of times.  I think they’re fairly smooth now and express what I meant to say.  I’m hoping to get chapters three and four done EARLY this week.  Then I’ll be prepping for NaNoWriMo—the National Novel Writing Month in November, as well as trying to get back into my faerie tale.

C.C.  Ezzy Bear: The 3-Act structure, usually meant for fiction, is actually helping me even with my non-fiction book.  Emotional moments, whether tense or happy, are both included—I’m working on keeping it well-balanced.

JC The Shadow Master: The plot structure discussion has helped further my vision. I now understand my antagonist, his purpose, drive, and  cause and I know why he is doing what he is.  As a result, I am now able to move forward with the plot: roadblocks have been lifted.

See you day-after-tomorrow for Friday’s Friends!

2 Comments

Filed under WIPs

2 responses to “Wednesday’s WIPs: Working with WIPs

  1. H. A., that was hilarious. I hope you find your Ron and Hermione soon!

  2. benschwensch

    He’s looking . . . he’s looking . . .

Leave a Reply

