Saturday Softcover: Dead Ever After by Charlaine Harris— Sookie, We’re Going to Miss You

Easy as A, B, C . . . from HA

Dead Ever After also includes this warning on the cover: THE FINAL SOOKIE STACKHOUSE NOVEL. Could it be true?Dead Ever After

It appears so. The ending is tidy and, yet, leaves room for us to bring the story forward the way we’d like to see it end—or have no ending at all for that matter; just let the story roll on.

For those of you who only know Sookie through HBO’s True Blood series: Shame on you! The books are so much better (my humble opinion of course) than the TV series… but, then, aren’t they always?

For those of you who have been living in areas not fed by HBO, Wal-Mart, or libraries, the 13 Sookie Stackhouse novels take place in a small Louisiana town named Bon Temps (Good Time). The big news in the first book is vampires “coming out of the coffin.” It seems the Japanese have perfected a synthetic blood—marketed in six-pack bottles as True Blood—allowing the vampires to drink from something other than human necks. Let the good times roll! The vampires are trying to merge into mainstream life, living side-by-side with those who used to be dinner.

The series is narrated in first person perspective by Sookie. She is a waitress and (did I forget to mention?) a telepath. The first book in the series, Dead until Dark, won the Anthony Award for Best Paperback Mystery in 2001.

Harris doesn’t stop at vampires. It seems all sorts of life-forms inhabit even small towns: werewolves, werepanthers, shapes-shifters, faeries, and myriad other mythical creatures. And there sits Sookie, right in the middle: politics, negotiations between werewolf packs, vampire clans, shifter groups; Sookie’s caught up in all of it.

Read the books, please. It’s summer, time for light-hearted reading.

Oh, for those of you who yearn to know what happens next: Dead Ever After isn’t the final word, just the final novel. In October of this year, After Dead: What Came Next in the World of Sookie Stackhouse will be released. According to Amazon’s book blurb “With characters arranged alphabetically—from the Ancient Pythoness to Bethany Zanelli—bestselling author Charlaine Harris takes fans into the future of their favorite residents of Bon Temps and environs. You’ll learn how Michele and Jason’s marriage fared, what happened to Sookie’s cousin Hunter, and whether Tara and JB’s twins grew up to be solid citizens.

“This coda provides the answers to your lingering questions—including details of Sookie’s own happily-ever-after…”

Enjoy the ride! I have.

See you next time for Monday’s Moans


Leave a comment

Filed under Softcover

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s