Friday’s Friends: 5 Fun Ways to Market Your Book without Spending a Cent—Kathryn Elizabeth Jones

Easy as A, B, C . . . from BB

kathyKathryn Elizabeth Jones has been a published writer since 1987.  She graduated from the University of Utah with a B.S. in Mass Communication and a minor in Creative Writing. Her studies included work in creative writing, public relations and journalism. She recently gave an interesting, inspiring, and enthusiastic presentation for the WordCraft chapter of The League of Utah Writers, so I asked if she would share some of her good ideas with The ABC Writers Guild and our readers:

I don’t know about you, but the idea of book marketing used to be overwhelming. I liked marketing just about as much as I enjoyed cleaning out the refrigerator.

That was, until I realized that marketing could be fun and that I didn’t have to spend a million dollars (or any money really) to get the word out.

When Marketing Your Book on a Budget 2012 came out last year I quickly realized some marketing ideas were pretty standard, such as book reviews and book signings, but there was always something new (usually online) I could do as well.marketing-your-book-2013-sm

When the 2013 edition of Marketing Your Book on a Budget came out, I had new ideas to add to the book. I’d let others go (usually the letting go meant the website owner was overburdened with material and wasn’t taking anything new) and came to realize that, even after this book was published, new ideas would continue to come in for the next edition.

And let me just say, they have.

What you need to know is marketing can be fun, especially when you don’t have to worry about money. So let’s get started right now. Here are my Top Five fun ways to share your book without spending a cent:

1. Put together a video trailer. My favorite site is Animoto.com. At Animoto, decide on the music you want to add, the pictures you want to display and the text you want to use. For a 30 second video you pay nothing. Don’t think you can say enough in a 30 second video? You might be surprised. Consider all of the superfluous words you’ll be able to cut out so that your video will be crisp and tight.

2. Do a blog radio interview. Scary? You bet. Rewarding? A definite “yes”. Many bloggers out there also do radio interviews. Blog Talk Radio, for example, has a list of interviewers and the authors they interview.

3. Do a book signing to remember: Nope, that doesn’t mean you sit behind a table and look bored. Rather, you create a book signing which is fun and engaging. I always stand at my book signings and greet those who pass by. My table is fun and creatively decorated. I read portions of my book. I have a book signing (any place) but a book store. I print off the first chapter of my newest book (not yet published) and hand these out along with my contact information.

4. Carry your new book with you. I usually have my newest book in my purse, another in my glove compartment or trunk. You really never know when you’ll be able to talk about your book and be able to sell it on the spot. It’s happened to me!

5. Write a regular blog. I can’t say enough about this one. If you are writing a focused blog, say 3-5 days a week, offering occasional contests (which means those who respond to your blog are entered in the drawing), place video on your blog, keep your blog posts short (under 500 words), use pictures, and open yourself up to new ideas like interviewing other authors, reviewing their books, and more, your blog will grow. Once I began to focus my blog as a way for me to connect with other writers and readers, my blog grew. It still has a way to go, but I see progress, and that’s important!

When it comes to loving marketing, it’s really as much about your attitude as it is about your creativity. Don’t get stuck in a box thinking all you can do is reviews. Do reviews, but do more. You’ll be glad you did.

Recently, Kathryn has opened the doors to Idea Creations Press, a publishing services company which caters to writers and their writing, publishing and marketing needs. Her latest book, Marketing Your Book on a Budget 2013, can be found at Amazon.com or on her website at http://www.ariverofstones.com.

Thanks, Kathryn, for sharing your good and free advice on marketing. BTW, Kathryn will be speaking to my writing class on May 14. Same place, same time, if you’ve been there before. If you’d like information on place and time, drop me an e-mail at benschwensch@yahoo.com.

See you day-after-tomorrow for Sunday Snippets

3 Comments

Filed under Friends

3 responses to “Friday’s Friends: 5 Fun Ways to Market Your Book without Spending a Cent—Kathryn Elizabeth Jones

  1. Carrie

    Wonderful ideas I never knew. Thank you kathryn and Brenda

  2. benschwensch

    And thank you, Carrie, for reading and for commenting!

  3. You’re welcome, Carrie. Always nice to help another writer!

Leave a Reply

