Wednesday’s WIPs – The Shadows Are Deepening

Easy as A, B, C . . . from JC

Still at it…

I am now fifty some odd pages into my young adult fantasy…The Shadow Master. I know it doesn’t sound like many pages, but it feels three times that.

Brax continues his experiences at his new home on a large Montana cattle ranch run by his elderly aunt, her servants, and Hank, the ranch hand. The mansion he lives in is full of adventurous rooms and passageways, not to mention intricate relics including wooden carvings of standing wolves and a large stained-glass moon in the ceiling. So far he has survived the terror of a lightning storm, met a new friend and overcome his intense fear of horses by taking his very first riding lesson.

Now the tricky part…

I have just introduced a new plot thread as we meet the Eesa, an ancient civilization of humanoid-wolves who live deep underground guarding a gate between the earth and the shadow realm. The problem is…the gate has partially failed and a dangerous shadow-being, known as a Lurker, has escaped to the surface through an old abandoned mine.

Stay with me as I post Wednesday’s WIPs on my next turn. Be there as Brax avoids the lightning, comes face to face with the Eesa and develops an ability that will put him in harm’s way, directly in the path of the Lurker.

Through it all…

I have been blessed to have a great support system at my side: critiquing, suggesting, teaching. Thanks to this wonderful group of people, I am learning a great deal about structure, grammar, punctuation and how to drive the story through my characters’ experiences and their dialog with those around them. I have a lot to learn and a long way to go with my book, but I am driven to finish it by the end of the year…cross your fingers for me…

See you day-after-tomorrow for Friday’s Friends

3 Comments

Filed under WIPs

3 responses to “Wednesday’s WIPs – The Shadows Are Deepening

  1. Justin, your ability to push through and keep writing is inspiring to me. Keep up the good work!

  2. benschwensch

    Yes—he’s a real asset to all of us with his push, not to mention his prolific outpouring of new and intriguing ideas!

  3. AMEN BRENDA!! I couuldn’t have said it better myself. He is a treasure trove!

Leave a Reply

